Indiana Legal Research: Bloomington/Monroe County

The Commissioners' website has a large archive of ordinances and resolutions beginning in 1989 to the present day, meeting minutes since 2004, forms, and economic development plans.

Contains drafts of annual budgets, documents from council meetings (beginning in 2003), ordinances, solutions, forms, and documents from the Personnel Action Committee.

A large index of documents from a range of Monroe County officials, including the Assessor, Auditor, Recorder, Surveyor, and Treasurer.

The City of Bloomington maintains an online, searchable version of its complete municipal code.

The IU Law Library maintains a print collection of Bloomington's Municipal Code starting in 1970. Current versions of the code are available at the circulation desk.

The text of individual ordinances passed each year are available starting in 1988. Also available are legislative indexes, which records all legislation presented to the City Council and its decisions. Legislative indexes are available starting in 2006 until the present day.

The Circuit Court website contains annual reports (beginning 2002), information on court history, a wide range of forms, a Small Claims handbook, a copy of the Local Rules and proposed changes, and materials for pro se individuals.

The County Prosecutor's website has a well-organized hierarchy of links, resources, and contact information for a variety of specific offenses as well as assistance for victims.

The Bloomington County Clerk's Office contains links and resources for individuals requiring information concerning court documents. Links include a Small Claims Handbook, forms and instructions on sealing records, annual reports for the circuit court, voter registration and related information, and the Local Records Commission.

The online list of Boards and Commissions for the City of Bloomington. Contains descriptions and purposes of committees, committee reports, members, websites, and news.

A great central hub of information about the City of Bloomington. Allows users to find ordinances, original City of Bloomington documents, including the town's charter and the original city map (dating from the 1800's).

View information about the city, including city GIS metadata, budgets, census data, and a 3D model of Bloomington.

Online archives of City Council minutes and memorandum beginning in 1991.

Detailed map of City Council districts, including street labeling. Boundaries and and districts are delineated by color.

Video webcasts and online streams are available of various official meetings of the City of Bloomington and Monroe County. Requires the free software RealPlayer.