Research Guides: Indiana Legal Research: Statutes

Indiana Code

Indiana Code
Indiana Administrative Code
The Indiana Administrative Code is a collection of all the Indiana administrative rules published by the General Assembly.

According to the BlueBook, citing the Indiana Code is as follows:

Indiana Code (Official Code):

Ind. Code § x-x-x-x

West's Annotated Indiana Code:

Ind. Code Ann. § x-x-x-x (West <year>)

Burns Indiana Statutes Annotated:

Ind. Code Ann. § x-x-x-x (LexisNexis <year>)

West's Annotated Indiana Code

Located on the first floor of the IU Law Library.

Burn's Indiana Statutes Annotated

Located on the first floor of the IU Law Library.

Superseded Code

The IU Law Library has an extensive collection of Indiana superseded code on the 4th floor.

The Indiana Senate

Indiana General Assembly
Contains information about current standing committees, publications, laws, and reports. Full-text of the journals for each year of the General Assembly are available, starting in 2010. Additionally, the daily journals of each chamber are available with the House starting in 2004 and the Senate, beginning in 2005.
Indiana Session Laws
Contains all bills for the current legislative session, as well as resolutions, fiscal impact statements, and committees.
Law & Administrative Rules
List of all laws passed by the Indiana General Assembly, organized by year. The list contains years 2000-2009.

Bloomberg Law This link opens in a new window
Bloomberg provides the complete Indiana Code, but without annotations.
Lexis+ This link opens in a new window
Lexis provides the entire Indiana Code in its Burns Indiana Statutes Annotated.
Westlaw This link opens in a new window
Westlaw's annotated code, with versions 2006 until the present.

Portion of the Senate Legislative Process

How a Bill Becomes a Law
A list of constitutional requirements in order for a bill to become law.
Senate Process Diagram
A detailed diagram of the steps a Senate bill takes from the original proposal to enacting the final version.
House Process Diagram
A detailed diagram of the steps a House bill takes from the original proposal to enacting the final version.