If you are unfamiliar with your topic, the first step is to consult an encyclopedia or treatise. This type of source will provide you with important background information, citations to applicable treaties and leading cases, definitions of basic international legal concepts (e.g., “jus cogens”) and short-hand terms (e.g., “Geneva conventions”). Tables of abbreviations will also be useful for deciphering unfamiliar acronyms and other abbreviations. Many background sources are authoritative, and may be cited. Useful examples include:
- Encyclopedia of Public International Law (EPIL). Authoritative source of peer-reviewed articles on every aspect of public international law. Contains approximately 1,700 entries, each with a bibliography of sources for further research. Entries updated, and new content added, as needed.
- Oppenheim’s International law, 9th ed. Vol. 1. Peace. 1992. Jennings and Watts. (KZ3264 .A35 1992, vol.1). The standard English-language treatise, but rarely updated. Vol. 2, Disputes, War and Neutrality 7th ed., was last published in 1952. Includes detailed bibliographic references.
- Brownlie's Principles of Public International Law, 8th ed. 2012. Brownlie and Crawford. (KZ 3225 .B76P75). Not as detailed as Oppenheim’s, but updated more frequently and still considered authoritative.
- Yearbook of the United Nations. Provides detailed coverage of the activities of the United Nations, with lengthy bibliographies of relevant official documentation. Search interface permits multi-year searches.
