U.S. Supreme Court briefs can be found by going to Browse > All Legal Content Search > U.S. Courts > Court Briefs > Federal Court Briefs > U.S. Supreme Court > run search. Coverage: U.S. Supreme Court briefs filed from 2015 to Present. Select coverage prior to 2015.
"Dockets Search." You can also use Dockets Search to search federal, state, and international dockets. Go to Browse > Litigation Intelligence Center > Dockets Search. Coverage: Varies by jurisdiction. Dockets Search can retrieve records of proceedings for the U.S. Supreme Court from 2003 to current.
Dockets Overview (www.bna.com/dockets-overview/). Breaking Complaints (for litigation relevant to business and finance), overview (www.bna.com/breaking-complaints-overview/).
Coverage: U.S. Supreme Court briefs, earliest brief dated August 12, 1936 through current; United States Courts of Appeals Briefs & District Court Briefs, earliest brief dated 2000 through current; state court briefs, earliest briefs dated 2000 through current.
“Dockets” gives you the docket sheet, without links to the underlying filings.
“Briefs, Pleadings and Motions” contains Federal and State Briefs, Motions, Pleadings and other court filings, spanning a collection of more than 28 million documents. Provides access to PDFs of the documents. Advanced Search: use document segments/fields to search by name, number, court, citation, attorney, judge, etc.
You cannot access dockets and court documents directly from a particular case on Lexis Advance, but you can choose “Briefs, Pleadings & Motions” or “Dockets” as a pre-search or post-search filter.
Basic search by U.S. Reports citation, case name, author, keyword, or full text.
Use advanced search to search by docket number or other reporter citation (e.g., Supreme Court Reporter).
Content associated with each case is compiled on a dynamic page organized to facilitate understanding of the judicial process, and is also retrievable on a document by document basis.
This module covers content from the 1975/1976 term through the 2016/2017 term.
Coverage: U.S. Supreme Court briefs, begins with 1930.
Dockets: “All Dockets Combined” contains docket information on cases filed in State Courts, U.S. District Courts, U.S. Courts of Appeal, U.S. Bankruptcy Courts and the U.S. Supreme Court.
“Briefs” contains selected briefs from the U.S. Supreme Court, Courts of Appeals, Court of Appeals for the Armed Forces, U.S. Tax Court, 51 state courts and the District of Columbia. Selected Petitions for Writ of Certiorari are also included.
“Trial Transcripts & Oral Arguments” is a multibase of transcripts of selected oral arguments and trials. The oral arguments were heard in the various state and federal courts.
Advanced Search: use fields to limit search by party name, attorney, docket number, citation, court name, text, etc.
Dockets and court documents are also accessible from the “Filings” tab of a case. From the case, click on the “Filings” tab > View Appellate Court Documents, Trial Court Documents, Dockets, or All Results.
Southern District of Indiana uses an electronic case management system.
Westlaw
Lexis Advance