Research Guides: Resources for Maurer Law Journal Members: Sourcing: Books and Periodicals

What it is...

A sourcing assignment asks you to track down the sources identified in the footnotes to your assigned article. This page lists resources and library policies to help you do that.

Books

Check to see if the book is available from IUCAT. Even if we don't have it in our collection, you will be able to see if it is available from another library in the IU system, in which case you can click the red Request Delivery button to have it sent to the Law Library.

If you cannot find the book within the IU system or available online, we may still be able to get it for you through interlibrary loan (ILL). Fill out our online form, giving as much detail as you can about the book you seek, and we'll try to track it down for you.

If you're having trouble locating a book in our library, you can encounter a book that's already checked out to someone else, or a book that's marked as missing in the IUCAT record, contact the Circulation Office, and Rebecca and Stella will either track down the book or get another copy for you via ILL.

Periodicals: Law Reviews, Journals, Newspapers

Law Review Articles

There are many places you could look to find law review articles. Some of the most widely used are listed below:

HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
HeinOnline's Law Journal Library has the broadest and deepest collection of law journals and a growing number of foreign, international, and multidisciplinary journals, all in digitized form. This is an excellent first stop for law review content.

Digital Commons Network (Library Repositories)
This is a search portal to the content of all digital repositories hosted by bepress. While one of the largest repository hosts, some schools and journals may use other platforms, so if you can't find your article here, you might try looking at the journal's website for further guidance.

IUCAT This link opens in a new window
If you're still having trouble finding the article you need, search IUCAT for the title of the journal (not the article). It's possible we have access to the journal from another database to which the IU Libraries subscribe.

Other Academic Journals

Because IU is a major research university, chances are good that the academic journal you're looking for accessible from one of the many databases to which the IU Libraries subscribe. Below are some recommended databases for academic journals beyond law:

Academic Search This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database containing full text from nearly 3,200 scholarly publications. Coverage includes the social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Contains full text of many scholarly journals, largely in the fields of ecology, economics, education, finance, history, mathematics, political science, and population studies.
SSRN (Social Science Research Network) This link opens in a new window
Pre-print service and institutional archives of academic journal articles.
IUCAT This link opens in a new window
Again, one of the best strategies is to search IUCAT for the title of the journal (not the article). The catalog record will tell you what database(s) provide access to the journal, and their coverage, so you can choose the database that best meets your needs.

Newspapers

There are many databases the IU Libraries subscribe to that offer access to current, historical, major, local, and global newspapers. What can be confusing is figuring out which database to look in. As with academic journals, one tip is to start in IUCAT by searching the title of the newspaper. Below are some prominent newspaper databases:

Factiva This link opens in a new window
General news and business information sources from international newswires and pictures, TV and radio transcripts,local newspapers, company reports, and media programs.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Contains the full text of the New York Times (1851-2009), the Chicago Tribune (1849-1989), the Los Angeles Times (1881-1989), the Wall Street Journal (1889-1995),‎ and the Washington Post (1877-1996).
America's Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Digital archive of 1,000 American newspapers published between 1690 and 1922, representing every state in the U.S. Based on a collection of rare newspapers held by the American Antiquarian Society, with contributions from the Boston Athenaeum, the Connecticut Historical Society, the Connecticut State Library, the Library Company of Philadelphia, the Library of Congress, the libraries of universities such as Brown and Harvard, and private collections. Fully text-searchable; browseable by newspaper title.
Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window
Online version of the Wall Street Journal. If you are member of the IU community (faculty, staff, or student), you can create your own WSJ online account. Go to this link for more information: https://libraries.indiana.edu/wall-street-journal-online.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) has much of the same content as regular Lexis+, but is available to all Indiana University Bloomington students, faculty, and staff, and patrons that come in to the Jerome Hall Law Library. It contains cases, statutes, regulations, constitutions, law reviews, and leading newspapers and magazines.

International Materials

Foreign and international materials can be particularly difficult to track down. You may want to consult our list of foreign and international online resources. In addition, Cindy Dabney, our Foreign and International Law Librarian, maintains several research guides in the areas of international law and foreign and comparative law; you may find these guides helpful for identifying strategies for locating these types of materials.

If you are having difficulty tracking down or even identifying a foreign source, stop by the Reference Office for assistance.