Art & Cultural Heritage Law : Databases

The foremost encyclopedia covering both Western and non-Western art and encompasses all aspects of visual culture.

Oxford Art Online offers access to the most authoritative, inclusive, and easily searchable online art resources available today, including Grove Art Online, the Benezit Dictionary of Artists, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, Grove Dictionary of Art, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, as well as many specially commissioned articles and bibliographies available exclusively online.

The world's most contemporary, reliable and extensive reference work on artists. It contains authoritative, up-to-date biographical information on more than 1 million artists.

A digital image library of more than 1,000,000 (million) images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences with a set of tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes.

Has an archive of images drawn from worldwide art collection from its work with various museums, art galleries and artists. This database has the best art available for reproduction and available for licensing.

The Advisory Council on Historic Preservation promotes the preservation, enhancement, and sustainable use of our nation’s diverse historic resources, and advises the President and the Congress on national historic preservation policy.

Offers a centralized resource for Art and Cultural Heritage Law.

The International Foundation for Art Research (IFAR) is a not-for-profit educational and research organization dedicated to integrity in the visual arts. Their website offers information on authenticity, ownership, theft, legal, and ethical issues concerning art. Publishes IFAR Journal.

Website of the National Park Service, U.S. Department of the Interior containing information, texts, and frequently asked questions about the Native American Graves Protection and Repatriation Act.

News and information about art, entertainment, and sports from newspapers, magazines, journals, newsletters, transcripts, and wires as provided by NewsRoom.

Search citations from arts and humanities journals published from 1975 to the present. A special feature is cited reference searching, which allows the researcher to search citation data (the footnotes to individual articles), taking a known paper and finding others which cite it or finding all papers citing work by a specific author.

Abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, dissertations, and exhibition reviews. The scope of ARTbibliographies Modern extends from artists and movements beginning with Impressionism in the late 19th century, up to the most recent works and trends in the late 20th century. Photography is covered from its invention in 1839 to the present. A particular emphasis is placed upon adding new and lesser-known artists and on the coverage of foreign-language literature. Approximately 13,000 new entries are added each year.

Indexes articles on all aspects of art and architecture published in 370+ International periodicals since 1984 with full-text coverage of selected journals starting in 1997.

Citations and abstracts for articles on all aspects of art and architecture published in over 420 international periodicals between 1929 and August 1984.

"The Getty provides access to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) and to the Répertoire international de la littérature de l'art (RILA) for no charge on its Web site. These citation databases, searchable together, cover material published between 1975 and 2007. For material published after 2007 see the International Bibliography of Art (IBA) at www.csa.com."

"Dedicated to furthering knowledge and advancing understanding of the visual arts. Its Research Library with special collections of rare materials and digital resources serves an international community of scholars and the interested public" (home page mission statement) and allows for searching through various visual and scholarly databases. It is quite comprehensive and an excellent public resource.

Subject database of the ProQuest aggregated full-text database of journal articles, newspapers and dissertations. Includes ARTbibliographies Modern (ABM) (a bibliography available for the study of modern and contemporary art), CBCA Complete: The Arts (Canadian art periodicals), e-brary ebooks, and Index Islamicus.

United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization provides access to national legislation relating to tangible and intangible cultural and natural heritage (such as monuments, archaeological sites, paintings, coins, archaeological objects, shipwrecks, underwater cities, oral traditions, performing arts, rituals, natural sites, physical, biological or geological formations, etc.).

News and information about art, entertainment, and sports from newspapers, magazines, journals, newsletters, transcripts, and wires as provided by NewsRoom.