International Commercial Arbitration : Treatises & Monographs

This book examines the formation, nature and effect of the arbitrators’ contract, addressing topics such as the appointment, challenge, removal and duties and rights of arbitrators, disputing parties and arbitration institutions. The arguments made in the book are based on a semi-autonomous theory of the juridical nature of international arbitration and a contractual theory of the legal nature of these relationships. From these premises, the book analyses the formation of the arbitrator’s contract in both ad hoc and institutional references. It also examines the institution’s contract with the disputing parties and its effect on the arbitrator’s contract under institutional references. The book draws from national arbitration laws and institutional rules in various jurisdictions to give a global view of the issues examined in it. The arbitrator’s contract is analysed from a global perspective of arbitral law and practice with insights from various jurisdictions in Africa, Asia, Europe, North and South America. The primary focus of the book is an analysis of the formation of the arbitrator’s contract and the terms of this contract and the institution’s contract. The primary question of the consequences (if any) of the breaches of the terms of these contracts and its impact on the exclusion or limitation of liability of arbitrators and institutions is also analysed with the conclusion that since these transactions are contractual and the terms can be categorised as in any normal contract, then normal contractual remedies can be applied to the breaches of these terms. International Commercial Arbitration and the Arbitrator’s Contract will be of great value to arbitration practitioners and researchers in arbitration. It will also be very useful to students of arbitration on the topics of arbitrators and arbitration institution.

This landmark treatise provides an authoritative and comprehensive treatment of international commercial arbitration, which is essential reading for international practitioners and academics. This second edition contains detailed commentary, case analysis, and practice pointers. Full annotations and footnotes provide invaluable research assistance, while clearly written analysis identify and discuss critical issues. Representative international arbitral awards and national court decisions are excerpted, and detailed reference is made to leading institutional rules. Detailed appendices, an easy-to-use Table of Contents and an extensive index aid research and provide ready access to key materials.

International Commercial Arbitration third Edition is an authoritative treatise providing the most complete available commentary and analysis on all aspects of the international commercial arbitration process. This completely revised and expanded edition of Gary Born's authoritative work is divided into three main parts, dealing with the International Arbitration Agreement, International Arbitral Procedures and International Arbitral Awards. The third edition provides a systematic framework for both current analysis and future developments, as well as exhaustive citations from all leading legal systems.

The UNCITRAL Model Law on International Commercial Arbitration has been a great success in harmonizing the law of arbitration around the world. Several dozen countries have either adopted the law or amended their own laws to be in conformity with it. The fact that the law is the same in so many countries allows courts from each country to benefit from the interpretation of the Model Law provisions in many countries. This book, written by distinguished arbitration practitioners, Is a must for every international arbitration practitioner. The authors have compiled decisions applying the Model Law from most Model Law jurisdictions, and they have organized them in order to provide easy reference. The cases are organized by section of the Model law, with the cases applying that section from multiple jurisdictions summarized together. Each summary includes a statement of the holding of the case, a broader summary of the facts And The ruling, and case citations. This compilation will allow arbitration counsel to compare and to readily use rulings under each Model Law section from multiple jurisdictions. Features: The work compiles decisions applying the Model Law from various Model Law jurisdictions. Cases are organized by section of the Model Law with the cases applying that section from multiple jurisdictions, summarized together. Benefits: a substantial coverage of the UNCITRAL Model Law on Arbitration written by distinguished arbitration practitioners the work provides easy reference summaries not only include a statement of the holding of the case, but also of the facts And The ruling, and case citations; this compilation allows arbitration counsel to compare and to readily use rulings under each Model Law section from multiple jurisdictions user-friendly reference to cases.

This book provides the reader with immediate access to understanding the world of international arbitration. Arbitration has become the dispute resolution method of choice in international transactions. This book explains how and why arbitration works. It provides the legal and regulatory framework for international arbitration, as well as practical strategies to follow and pitfalls to avoid. It is short and readable, but comprehensive in its coverage of the basic requirements, including the most recent changes in arbitration laws, rules and guidelines. The second edition includes updates on rules and guidelines, such as the arbitration rules of the ICC, the SCC, the ACICA and UNCITRAL, as well as the 2010 IBA Rules on Taking of Evidence in International Arbitration. The author includes insights from numerous international arbitrators and counsel, who tell firsthand about their own experiences of arbitration and their views of best practices.

This is the first publication to identify a universal procedural code for international commercial arbitration. This informative and well-argued discussion of a uniform code for due process is a useful aid for both practitioners and scholars. More than just a useful desk reference, thispublication uncovers a unifying arbitration principle in light of the diversity of national traditions. The author Matti S. Kurkela demonstrates how this unifying principle might establish a new standard procedure in arbitration law. Guiding the reader through a step-by-step analysis of due process in international commercial arbitration, the book is comprehensive without being esoteric. Due Process in International Commercial Arbitration, Second Edition thus helps both practitioners new to arbitration procedure and experiencedattorneys looking for a cutting-edge discussion of due process issues. It can be used as a handbook for lawyers engaged in arbitral disputes. To provide the necessary guidance for lawyers in need of quick, reliable information, author Matti Kurkela and Santtu Turunen update readers on the numerouschanges made to arbitration law since the book's 2005 edition. Even more helpfully, Kurkela and Turunen have added two new chapters to show lawyers what to expect in the midst of an arbitration proceeding: a chapter on procedural rules from the New York Convention and a chapter on jurisdictionarising from sources outside the arbitration agreement. As corporations engage in more globalized commerce, and as arbitrators resolve more international legal disputes, this resource provides both the broad background and the quick reference information necessary to understand the complexities ofarbitration procedure. A thorough Table of Contents, Index, and Appendix of primary documents facilitate practitioners' research in this vital book. This new edition's balance of comprehensiveness and concision make it a one-stop resource for arbitration attorneys around the world.

Now also available as eBook After neutrality and international enforcement, the next most valued feature of international commercial arbitration is confidentiality. For reasons easy to imagine, businessmen do not want their trade secrets, business plans, strategies, contracts, financial results or any other types of business information to be publicly accessible, as would commonly happen in court proceedings. Yet the case law of arbitration shows that in practical terms confidentiality is not to be taken for granted - in fact, it has become one of the most undetermined matters in international arbitration. Although 'the emperor of arbitration may have clothes, ' as one scholar has quipped, his raiments of secrecy can be 'torn with surprising ease'. This book deciphers the current degree of confidentiality in international commercial arbitration as reflected by the most important arbitration rules, national laws, other arbitration-related enactments, and practices of arbitral tribunals and domestic courts globally. Drawing on this data and analysis, the author then sets forth criteria to assess the breach of confidentiality in international arbitration and the proper rules for protecting or sanctioning such breaches. What do we understand by confidentiality in arbitration? What are its limitations? Who is bound to observe it? How can we quantify its breach? In addressing these questions, the book engages such issues as the following: reasons for disclosure - e. g., for the establishment of a defence, for the enforcement of rights, in the public interest or in the interests of justice disclosure by consent, express or implied; circumstances triggering statutory obligation of disclosure; recent trends towards greater transparency in investor-State arbitration; court measures in support of arbitral confidentiality such as award of damages for breach of confidentiality; and categories of persons bound by confidentiality, including third parties such as witnesses and experts. Structured along the main stages of the arbitral process, the analysis covers the duty of confidentiality from the initiation of arbitral proceedings through their unfolding to the issuance of the award and after. The scope of confidentiality is reviewed in the practice of arbitral tribunals and domestic courts, and from the perspective of international arbitration institutions, with detailed attention to various arbitration rules and numerous significant cases. In its elucidation of the amount of confidentiality that 'veils' each phase of the arbitral process, and its ground-breaking identification of 'patterns of disclosure', this book is sure to raise awareness about the various facets and problems posed by confidentiality in arbitration. Although its scholarly contribution to the law of international commercial arbitration cannot be gainsaid, corporate counsel worldwide will quickly prize its more practical value.

This nutshell on arbitration addresses freedom of contract, federal preemption, and universal arbitrability. It conveys a thorough sense of the relevant case law and applicable rules. It describes the unique features of the various forms of arbitration and covers the current debate about arbitration. In particular, it integrates the Court's most recent pronouncements into the assessment of the decisional law: Stolt-Nielsen, Rent-A-Center, Granite Rock Co., and AT&T Mobility v. Concepcion.

Recognizing the value of arbitration as a method of settling disputes arising in international commercial relations and to make all efforts to ensure that the revised articles of the Model Law and the recommendations become widely known and available, the United Nations Commission on International Trade Law has produced this publication to include the full text of the Model Law with amendments as adopted in 2006.

This book provides both experienced and inexperienced practitioners, as well as advanced students, with a guide to the strategies associated with researching international commercial arbitration as well as the sources associated with that field of law. Up until very recently, the field ofinternational commercial arbitration was populated solely by specialists who knew the sources and strategies for researching relevant authorities. However, as the practice and business of law has become more international and more diversified, generalists have begun to enter the field while thenumber of specialized sources associated with international commercial arbitration has grown exponentially. The book combines instructional text with a bibliography of sources to teach readers where to find relevant material. The instructional chapters discuss the most important methods by whichone conducts research in international arbitration, while the bibliography provides guidance on where to find that material. Furthermore, the book will offer tips on how to present a case to an international tribunal, which is quite different than presenting a case to a national court.In effect, the book walks the reader through the steps associated with researching and presenting issues in international commercial arbitration. For example, the book covers:DT Where to find reported international arbitral awards (as opposed to judicial decisions)DT Where to find specialist treatises and journal articles on international arbitrationDT How to use the various sources and evaluate the weight of competing authorityDT How to present one's findings to an international arbitral panelDT How to consider the special issues that relate to international arbitrationAdditionally, the book takes advantage of empirical research into the conduct of arbitration, giving an insider's view of the process.