Research Guides: Public Natural Resources Law: Legal Resources

About

This page identifies various databases for accessing and researching primary sources in law, including statutes, regulations, and cases.

Miscellaneous Databases

Public Documents Masterfile
This database allows you to search current and historical government documents and reports, and covers not only legal aspects, but also science, technology, and the social sciences.

Rocky Mountain Mineral Law Foundation

The RMMLF is a non-profit organization focused on the study of the laws and regulations related to mining, oil and gas, water, public lands, energy, and more. You may find their website to be an informative resource in your studies of public land law. In addition, the Law Library has collected a limited run of the RMMLF Journal, available from IUCAT.

Law School Only Resources

The following databases are restricted to the law school community. Anyone researching at the law school will have access to these databases, whether affiliated with the law school or not.

Environmental Law Reporter
This is a great resource solely devoted to environmental law news and developments. It is accessible only at the law school.
BNA Premier
Access to a variety of reporters covering several areas of law, including several devoted to environmental law. Access to this database is restricted to the law school only, so you will need to be in the law school in order to access these reporters.

University-Wide Legal Resources

Lexis Nexis Academic
This is a database for researching case opinions, statutes, and regulations at the state and federal levels. It is accessible by anyone in the IUB community.
HeinOnline
This database provides access to law journal articles, other secondary sources, as well as many resources from the executive, legislative, and judicial branches. This database can be a great asset in legal research. It is accessible to anyone in the IUB community.

ProQuest Legislative Insight This link opens in a new window
Extensive compilation of legislative histories of U.S. public laws enacted from 1789-present used to discover the legislative intent behind a specific law. Histories include the full text of the public law itself, all versions of related bills, law-specific Congressional Record excerpts, committee hearings, reports, prints, presidential signing statements, CRS reports, and other miscellaneous congressional publications. All documents are full-text, searchable PDFs.
ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new window
This is a great database for researching federal laws and regulations, both historic and current.