The Foreign Relations of the United States (Documents S 1.1:). Currently comprising over 350 volumes, this series is the official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions and actions. Volumes covering the years since 1952 are organized chronologically by presidential administration, and geographically and topically within each subseries. Volumes on the Nixon and Ford administrations are now being published. . FRUS is available electronically in HeinOnline's Foreign Relataions of the United States database at the official Department of State website, and in the University of Wisconsin Digital Collection, which supports full text searching.
Digest of United States Practice in International Law, 2001- (KZ21 .R68). This annual digest is published by the International Law Institute for the Department of State Office of Legal Advisor. The Digest is available electronically at the Department of State web site and includes many document excerpts that are available in full from the Department of State web site.
The Digest follows an earlier annual publication with the same title, covering the years 1973-1980, published by the Office of Legal Advisor (S7.12/3:[year]), and a subsequent Cumulative Digest of United States Practice in International Law, covering the period 1981-1988 (S7.12/3:981-88). The new version includes volumes filling the years from 1989-1999, and a cumulative index covering the years 1989-2006 was released in December, 2007.
All Digests, covering the years 1973-, are available in the U.S. Law Digests Part of HienOnline's Foreign & International Law Resources Database.
The current, annual Digest replaces a series of earlier digests, known by the names of their respective editors. The first Digest of the International Law of the United States (Wharton, 1887), covers the years 1776-1885. The second (Moore, 1906, S7.12:[vol.]) largely supersedes Wharton. The third (Hackworth, 1940-1944, S7.12:[vol.]) covers the period from 1905 to 1940. The fourth (Whiteman, 1963-1973, S 7.12/2:[vol.]) covers the years following Hackworth. These digests were all organized by topic and are encyclopedic in nature, rather than simple annual compilations of document extracts. All are available in HeinOnline's Foreign & International Law Resources Database.