Described below are some of the major indexes covering law-related subject areas. Many of them provide complete or substantial full-text coverage of the titles they index. This is just a selection, and researchers should browse the Wells Library List of Resources to find other indexes that might be relevant to their research.
Academic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary index providing full text coverage of more than 3,700 peer reviewed journals, as well as many newspapers and magazines. Coverage includes the social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) indexes materials related to public policy and social issues, including the fields of political science, government, international relations, economics, finance, law, environment, demography, sociology and business. It covers journal articles, books, government documents, pamphlets and the reports of public and private bodies. More than 1,100 journals and 8,000 monographs are indexed and abstracted each year. PAIS is international in scope and indexes publications in English, French, German, Italian, Portuguese and Spanish.
Project MUSE provides the full text of nearly 250 quality journal titles from 40 scholarly publishers covering the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.
JSTOR provides full-text access to hundreds of important journal titles in more than 30 arts, humanities, and social science disciplines, including ecology, economics, education, finance, history, mathematics, political science, and population studies. These scholarly journals can be browsed online and searched, and the page images can be printed for those available in full-text. Current content is available for only some of the journals. All journals in JSTOR start with the first volume. Many include content up to a "moving wall" of 3-5 years ago, although some journals have a fixed ending date for their content in JSTOR.
ProQuest Social Sciences provides unified searching of 21 ProQuest social science databases, including EconLit (1969 -), International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (1951 -), ProQuest Criminal Justice (1981 - ), ProQuest Political Science (1985 - ), Sociological Abstracts (1952 - ), and Worldwide Political Science Abstracts (1975 - ).
Peace Research Abstracts Journal (1964 -) is issued 6 times annually and contains summaries of the most vital literature published worldwide on conflict and its resolution. It includes both author and subject indexes. Subject areas include: Domestic Law, International Conflict, population and migration, military policy and organizations, and world economy and trade.
Web of Science indexes scholarly journal literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. Searching is available by cited reference, author, topic, publication name, and more. Results can be analyzed by document type, institution name, source title, and subject area. Web of Science includes a Core Collection of databases, comprising the following: Science Citation Index Expanded (1900-present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1900-present), Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index (1990-Present), Book Citation Index (2005-present), Index Chemicus (1993-Present), Current Chemical Reactions (1986-Present)
International Political Science Abstracts (IPSA),produced by the International Political Science Association, includes current indexing and abstracts of the world's leading journals in political science. This database contains over 110,000 records from nearly 900 journals published from 1989 to the present.
ABI/INFORM Complete covers over 2,890 publication titles, with more than 1,920 available in full text. International in scope, this database offers artaicles on the latest business and financial information, management techniques, business trends, management practice and theory, corporate strategy and tactics, and the competition environment. The database features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals such as the Economist, country-and industry-focused reports, and downloadable data. coverage is from 1991 onward.