Federal Tax Research Guide

HeinOnline has several collections relating to tax matters:

• Tax Foundation Archive Publications: Includes periodical articles, working papers, conference proceedings, special reports, and more from the Tax Foundation, a think tank based in Washington, D.C.
• Taxation & Economic Reform in America Parts I & II: Includes legislative histories of tax acts, Congressional Research Service reports related to tax, and internal revenue acts from 1909 to 1950.
• History of Bankruptcy: Taxation & Economic Reform in America Part III: Includes scholarly articles, Congressional Research Service reports related to bankruptcy, legislative histories, books, and other works.
• U.S. Federal Agency Documents, Decisions, and Appeals: Choose "Agencies" under the Browse Options and select Internal Revenue Service to find the Internal Revenue Cumulative Bulletin issues from 1919 to 2008 and the Internal Revenue Weekly Bulletin Cumulation beginning in 2009.

• Practice Centers: The Tax Practice Center can be found by clicking the "Practice Centers" tab at the top Bloomberg's website and then choosing "Tax." The practice center is a directory of content related to tax matters, including court opinions and dockets, law journals, laws and regulations, and books.
• News & Law Reports: Click on the "News & Law Reports" tab at the top of Bloomberg's website, then choose "BNA Law Reports." The Tax & Accounting section provides articles from about 20 different periodicals. You can select a specific periodical to browse, or use the search box on the right side of the page.
• Portfolios: located on the home page in the "Getting Started" Box. Some useful portfolios include State Tax and U.S. Income.

Browse by Topic:

• On the black band at the top of the home page, click "Browse," then "Topics," and then scroll down to find "Tax Law." You can either search for topics within tax law on the left side of the page, or keep clicking subtopics to drill down to your specific topic to find documents. You can also create alerts for your topic or add the topic as a search filter.

Tax Notes Weekly

• This weekly publication provides news, case summaries, analysis, and commentary relating to federal taxation. Lexis Advance provides issues from 1982 through the current issue. There is also a State Tax Notes counterpart, with coverage beginning in 1992. Find either resource by typing "Tax Notes" into the search box and waiting for the box to populate the periodicals in the drop down list.

From the Westlaw homepage, in the "Browse" box, click on the "Practice Areas" tab and then the "Tax" link. This page compiles many types of resources (cases, statutes, regulations, secondary sources, and more) pertaining to tax topics.

Westlaw also provides access to Warren, Gorham & Lamont (WG&L) resources: treatises, manuals, and journals on tax. To find the WG&L titles, browse Secondary Sources and find the Warren, Gorham & Lamont link on the far right under Tools & Resources (or, alternatively search secondary sources for WG&L).