This Encyclopedia has been in publication since 1973 and is still incomplete. Nevertheless, many volumes have been completed, and offer a scholarly introduction to the law of many jurisdictions on subjects such as torts, family law, private international law, and business organizations. Volume one offers introductory chapters on the legal systems of individual countries. Although out of date as a source of current information, these chapters offer a useful historical introduction to the legal systems of the world. The Encyclopedia is an authoritative and citable source.
The International Encyclopedia of Comparative Law is shelved in the Reference Collection (K530 .I5)
Halsbury's Laws of England, begun in 1907, is a particularly comprehensive and scholarly encyclopedia of English law. Currently transitioning from the 4th to 5th edition, this title provides a detailed introduction to all areas of English law, with citations to cases and secondary sources. An annual Abridgement, begun in 1974, includes matter not contained in the main volumes, and therefore extends their coverage. Access is through a variety of indexes, including a detailed subject index. (KD310 .H34 2008) The Library also has the 2nd and 3rd editions for historical reference.
The Laws of Scotland: Stair Memorial Encyclopaedia, Reissued Ed., is a fourteen volume, looseleaf encyclopedia providing comprehensive coverage of Scots law. It includes an annual consolidated table of statutes and consolidated subject index (KDC150 .L382 1999). The Library retains an earlier edition (published 1987-1998) as well.
The Canadian Encyclopedic Digest, available on Westlaw, combines the Canadian Encyclopedic Digest (Ontario), 4th ed., and the Canadian Encyclopedic Digest (Western), 4th ed. Therefore it covers the statutory and common law of Ontario and the western provinces, as well as the federal law of Canada. It includes citations from all provinces, from England, and from other common law jurisdictions. The electronic version of the encyclopedia is updated frequently. Print versions of earlier Ontario and Western editions (going back to 1919) are available from the ALF for historical research.
The Laws of Australia, published by the Law Book Co., 1993 -, is a a comprehensive, 37-volume, looseleaf encyclopedia, noted for the high quality of its commentary and exhaustiveness of its citations (KU14 1993). It includes a consolidated subject index, as well as consolidated tables of statutes and cases.
The Law of South Africa, 3rd ed. (2012 -), is a 34-volume, comprehensive encyclopedia of the law of South Africa. The encyclopedia is currently transitioning from the 2nd edition. It includes a consolidated index and annual cumulative supplements ( KTL13 1993). The Library retains earlier editions for historical research.
For brief, encyclopedic introductions to comparative law topics, see the following:
The Oxford Handbook of Comparative Law by 
Elgar Encyclopedia of Comparative Law by Another encyclopedia is the Modern Legal Systems Cyclopedia. This is not a scholarly source, but includes useful information on the court systems and organization of the legal profession in foreign countries, as well as some information about substantive law.
