Kevin Brown

Kevin D. Brown

Richard S. Melvin Professor of Law

Foreword and Afterword in GANDHI-AMBEDKAR (Narendra Jadhav), forthcoming 2023.

From the 1930s to the 2020s: What Ice Cube's Song "Endangered Species" Meant for Four Generations of Black Males, (Robert Pervine, Charles Westerhaus, and Kynton Gray) in FIGHT THE POWER: LAW AND POLICY THROUGH HIP-HOP SONGS (Gregory S. Parks and Frank Rudy Cooper, eds.), 2022.

The History and Conceptual Elements of Critical Race Theory (with Darrell Jackson) in THE HANDBOOK OF CRITICAL RACE THEORY IN EDUCATION, 2nd ed. (Marvin Lynn and Adrienne Dixson, eds.), 2022.

Common Struggles? Why There Has Not Been More Cooperation between African-Americans and Dalits (with Lalit Khandare) in B.R. AMBEDKAR: THE QUEST FOR JUSTICE (Aakash Singh Rathore, ed.). Oxford University Press, 2020.

African-American Perspective on Common Struggles: The Benefits for African-Americans Comparing Their Struggle to the Dalit Liberation Efforts, in THE RADICAL IN AMBEDKAR: CRITICAL REFLECTIONS (Suraj Yengde and Anand Teltumbde, eds.). India: Allen Lane, 2018.

African American Education during the Civil Rights Era, 1954 to 1975 in AFRICAN AMERICAN CULTURE: FROM DASHIKIS TO YORUBA (Gerald Early, Ed.). Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-Clio, 2018.

The Essence of African-American Culture is Resistance Against our Racial Oppression in CONTESTING MARGINALISATIONS: CONVERSATIONS ON AMBEDKARISM & SOCIAL JUSTICE (Vidya Bhushan Rawat, ed.). Navi Mumbai: Peoples Literature Publication, 2017.

Because of Our Success: The Race of Blacks Makes a Difference on LSAT Scores (with Renee Turner), in IILP REVIEW 2014: THE STATE OF DIVERSITY AND INCLUSION IN THE LEGAL PROFESSION. Chicago: Institute for Inclusion in the Legal Profession, 2014.

The History and Conceptual Elements of Critical Race Theory, in HANDBOOK OF CRITICAL RACE THEORY IN EDUCATION (Marvin Lynn and Adrienne Dixson, Eds.). New York: Routledge, 2013.

The Rise and Fall of the One-Drop Rule, in COLOR MATTERS: SKIN TONE BIAS AND THE MYTH OF A POSTRACIAL AMERICA (Kimberly Jade Norwood, Ed.). New York: Routledge, 2013.

Affirmative Action, in 1 ENCYCLOPEDIA OF AFRICAN AMERICAN POPULAR CULTURE, (Jessie Carney Smith, Ed.). Santa Barbara, CA: Greenwood, 2011.

Brown v. Board of Education, in 1 ENCYCLOPEDIA OF AFRICAN AMERICAN POPULAR CULTURE, (Jessie Carney Smith, Ed.). Santa Barbara, CA: Greenwood, 2011.

Plessy v. Ferguson, in 3 ENCYCLOPEDIA OF AFRICAN AMERICAN POPULAR CULTURE, (Jessie Carney Smith, Ed.). Santa Barbara, CA: Greenwood, 2011.

Affirmative Action, in THE OXFORD ENCYCLOPEDIA OF THE MODERN WORLD VOL. 1 (Peter N. Stearns, Ed.). New York: Oxford University Press, 2008.

Milliken v. Bradley, 418 U.S. 717 (1974), in ENCYCLOPEDIA OF THE SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES (David S. Tanenhaus et al., Eds.) Detroit: Macmillan Reference, 2008.

Milliken v Bradley (Milliken II) 433 U.S. 267 (1977), in ENCYCLOPEDIA OF THE SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES (David S. Tanenhaus et al., Eds.) Detroit: Macmillan Reference, 2008.

Diversity and the African-American Experience in America with Racial Subordination in the United States: Lessons for Dalits in India, in THE BANGALORE INITIATIVE (S. Japhet, et.al., Eds.). Bangalore: CSCCL, NLSIU and Devaraj Urs Research Institute, 2004.

Affirmative Action in the United States and the Reserve System in India, in RELIGION AND PERSONAL LAW IN SECULAR INDIA (edited by Gerald Larson). Bloomington: Indiana University Press, 2001.

Afrocentric Schools, in 1 ENCYCLOPEDIA OF THE AMERICAN CONSTITUTION 58 (L. Levy et al. eds., 2d edition). New York: Macmillan Reference USA, 2000.

Do African-American Males Need Race and Gender Segregated Education?: An Educator’s Perspective and a Legal Perspective, in THE NEW POLITICS OF RACE AND GENDER. Washington, D.C.: Falmer Press, 1993.

The Legal and Educational Construction of African-American Males in Academies, in THE NEW POLITICS OF RACE AND GENDER: THE 1992 YEARBOOK OF THE POLITICS OF EDUCATION ASSOCIATION (Catherine Marshall, Ed.). Washington, DC: Falmer Press, 1993.