Government Documents Reference Collection: Congressional

An analysis of cases decided by the Supreme Court with yearly supplements.

This definitive resource by Charles Kappler includes acts of Congress relating to treaties concluded between the United States and Native Americans from 1902-1971 and follows the format of Statutes at Large with notes in the Margins.

Vol. I, a chronological series of addresses on the history of the Senate.
Vol. II, a topical series of addresses on various aspects of the Senate's operation and powers.
Vol. III, Classic Speeches, 1830-1993.
Vol. IV, Historical Statistics, 1789-1992.

A biographical directory of all present and former members of the United States Congress as well as its predecessor, the Continental Congress. Also included are Delegates from territories and the District of Columbia and Resident Commissioners from the Philippines and Puerto Rico.

The purpose of this publication is to present under one cover the most significant documents relative to the formation of the American Federal States.

This brochure is intended to provide a basic outline of the numerous steps of our federal lawmaking process from the source of an idea for a legislative proposal through its publication as a statute.

This publication continues to be a popular introductory guide for American citizens and those of other countries who seek a greater understanding of our heritage of democracy. The question-and-answer format covers a broad range of topics dealing with the legislative, executive, and judicial branches of our Government as well as the electoral process and the role of political parties.

The House of Representatives formally incorporated Jefferson's Manual into its rules in 1837, stipulating that the manual "should govern the House in all cases to which they are applicable and in which they are not inconsistent with the standing rules and order of the House and the joint rules of the Senate and the House of Representatives."

1959 through 1980

3rd edition. Responding to the call i by legal educators for courses and materials on State Constitutional Law, this State Constitutional Law: Cases and Materials casebook fills a major gap in the teaching of American Constitutional Law. The text explores the many common themes that appear in the body of constitutional law of all states. The author proceeds to focus on the importance of the unique language and judicial interpretation of state constitutions in resolution of specific issues. Among the issues examined in detail in this edition of State Constitutional Law are: The political context in which state constitutions evolve; State constitutional rights provisions not appearing in the federal Constitution; Reapportionment and the public purpose requirement for state statutes; Women’s rights proposals.

This text explores the many common themes that appear in the body of constitutional law of all states and focuses on the importance of the unique language and judicial interpretation of state constitutions in resolution of specific issues.

Analysis of federal and state campaign finance law, summaries, and quick-reference charts

This ADA Handbook represents one element in part of the overall effort by the Equal Employment Opportunity Commission and the Department of Justice to provide information and assistance to people with disabilities, businesses, and the affected public.

The United States Sentencing Commission ("Commission") is an independent agency
in the judicial branch composed of seven voting and two non-voting, ex officio members. Its principal purpose is to establish sentencing policies and practices for the federal criminal justice system that will assure the ends of justice by promulgating detailed guidelines prescribing the appropriate sentences for offenders convicted of federal crimes.

The Congressional Directory is the official directory of the U.S. Congress, prepared by the Joint Committee on Printing (JCP). It presents: Short biographies of each member of the Senate and House, listed by state or district; Committee memberships, terms of service, administrative assistants and/or secretaries, and room and telephone numbers for Members of Congress; Lists officials of the courts, military establishments, and other Federal departments and agencies, including D.C. government officials, governors of states and territories, foreign diplomats, and members of the press, radio, and television galleries.

Provides a color photograph of each member of the House of Representatives and the Senate.. It also includes information about a Member of Congress' length of service, political party affiliations, and Congressional district. Also contains pictures of the President, Vice President, and House and Senate officers and officials.

This catalog lists the books, pamphlets, and other documents published by the U. S. government between September 1774 and March 1881. The list is organized by date of publication and includes the title, date, short description, page counts, and relevant Congress sessions and persons related to each document.