Law Library Databases A-Z

The most frequently-used databases

Bloomberg Law

Bloomberg Law contains primary legal materials (cases, statutes, and regulations), court docket information and documents, secondary legal materials, news, and business information.

Chronicle of Higher Education

Published online every weekday, source of news, advice, and jobs for people in academe. Features the complete contents of the latest issue; daily news and advice columns; current job listings; an archive of previously published content; discussion forums; and career-building tools such as online CV management, and salary databases.

HeinOnline

HeinOnline is a legal research collection that features a broad collection of digitized primary and secondary sources in law, known especially for their extensive law journal collection, and their historical collections of U.S. legal materials, and select foreign and international law collections.

Lexis+

Formerly Lexis Advance, Lexis+ is one of the premier legal research platforms, containing cases, statutes, regulations, constitutions, forms, treatises, law reviews, leading newspapers and magazines, reference items, and select international content.

LexisNexis Digital Library

Access LexisNexis e-books, including many state statutory codes, prominent treatises, and study aids, including the Mastering and Q&A series. Authentication with IU credentials to access.

ProQuest Congressional

A comprehensive resource for U.S. Congressional publications providing indexing, abstracts, and full text (PDFs and html) for legislative documents from 1789 forward. Documents include committee reports, House and Senate documents, committee prints, bills, hearings, Public Laws, Statutes at Large, the Congressional Record, and more.

VitalLaw

VitalLaw (formerly Cheetah) provides access to in-depth knowledge and expertise from WK attorney specialists and experts including deep, rich, analytical content and explanations; curated primary source (laws, regulations, and cases) with history lines and notes; a variety of CCH and Aspen Publishers titles; and practical tools, news, webinars, white papers, and blogs.

West Academic Study Aids

Online access to West Academic’s popular hornbooks and nutshells.

Westlaw

Westlaw is one of the premier legal research platforms, containing cases, statutes, regulations, constitutions, forms, treatises, law reviews, leading newspapers and magazines, reference items, and select international content. Westlaw accounts are available for law school faculty, staff, and students only. See a reference librarian for details.

View All View Less

The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.

NCLC Digital Library

New

The National Consumer Law Center (NCLC) is a non-profit dedicated to helping consumers, their advocates, and public policy makers. Includes access to the Consumer Law Practice Series as well as digital editions of books published by the National Housing Law Project and National Center for Law and Economic Justice.

TRACFed

New

The TRACFed data comes from many U.S. Federal government databases, largely through the Freedom of Information Act. Computerized data are supplemented by statistical reports, hardcover publications, and interviews with current and former government officials, attorneys, and agency data processing specialists. The data warehouse is updated on a regular basis, but the exact schedule is dependent of the release schedule of each agency.