From the "All" tab, under Legal, click on Secondary Legal. There are several options at this point, for instance Law Reviews, CLE, Legal Journals and Periodicals, Combined. If you click on the 'i' next to any of these, a box pops up that will show you what periodicals are included in that database. If you click on an individual database, you will be redirected to a search screen to search the database. If instead you want to search more than one of these databases, you can check the boxes next to the desired databases and click on Search Selected in the upper right-hand corner to complete the search.
To look for specific titles, (1) Click on Browse Sources, (2) under Content Type, click on Secondary Sources, (3) then either click on a letter of the alphabet and scroll through the titles or search for a title using the small search box on the left (that says 'search sources'). (Note: Attempting to search for periodical titles in the main search bar will not work as desired.)
On the Law School tab, under Secondary Sources, you can either check the box next to Journals and Law Reviews and then complete your search at the top of the screen; or, if you just want to see if Westlaw Classic has access to a particular journal, click on Scope to the right of Journals and Law Reviews to get a listing of included content. (Fun Trick: if you're more of a fan of Westlaw Next, but you want to search a database from Westlaw Classic, enter the database's abbreviation in the Westlaw Next search bar, and the database will pop up as a suggestion. Hint: the Journals and Law Reviews database is abbreviated JLR.)
Westlaw Next is probably the easiest of the databases for tracking down periodicals. Simply type the journal's title into the main search bar. Suggestions will pop up before you even hit search, and if it's not listed in those suggestions, they don't carry it on Westlaw Next. Alternatively, from the Westlaw Next home screen, (1) under All Content, click on Secondary Sources, (2) under By Type, click on Law Reviews & Journals, (3) and either search in the new search bar at the top of the screen, or click on the jurisdiction of your periodical, if known.
To search periodicals in Bloomberg Law (1) under Search and Browse, select All Legal Content; (2) in the list of searchable items, click the + next to U.S. Secondary Sources. If you want to search all of the law journals on Bloomberg, click on Law Reviews & Journals and this database will be added to your search. If you're looking for a specific title, click the + next to Law Reviews & Journals, and scroll through the list. (Note: None of the journals listed on this guide are available on Bloomberg Law.)
Law and Economics is by its very nature a multidisciplinary subject. It is highly likely that your research will lead you to resources that the law library does not own. There are two main ways to access materials at other libraries: Request Delivery and Interlibrary Loan.
Request Delivery is available for resources housed within the IU system (i.e. libraries around the Bloomington campus, as well as libraries at branch campuses). To access a resource via Request Delivery:
When your item is available for pick-up, you will receive an email.
Interlibrary Loan is available for resources housed outside the IU system. If you would like, you can use OCLC's WorldCat - a collaborative, massive online catalog - to see what libraries house your desired resource. However, you are not required to identify any libraries before submitting your interlibrary loan request.
NOTE: It is important that you submit your interlibrary loan request through the Law Library's system. You may have noticed the Interlibrary Loan link when using IUCAT; it is very easy to mistakenly request your interlibrary loan through another library when using that link. If you do so, you are bound by that library's policies, such as fines and renewals.
It is a far better idea to go through the Law Library's Interlibrary Loan services - linked under Services on the Law Library's website. Fill out as much information as you can, and Rebecca Bertoloni-Meli, our Head of Circulation, will take care of the rest. As with Request Delivery, you will receive an email when your resource arrives.