Skip to main content

Stephen A. Conrad

Faculty bibliography for Prof. Conrad

Publications

Stephen A. Conrad

Professor of Law


Books

CITIZENSHIP AND COMMON SENSE: THE PROBLEM OF AUTHORITY IN THE SOCIAL BACKGROUND AND SOCIAL PHILOSOPHY OF THE WISE CLUB OF ABERDEEN. New York: Garland Publishing, 1987.

Articles

Teaching Law After September 11th, 9 IDEAS: THE MAGAZINE OF THE NATIONAL HUMANITIES CENTER 47 (2002).

The Rhetorical Constitution of “Civil Society” at the Founding: One Lawyer’s Anxious Vision, 72 INDIANA LAW JOURNAL 335 (1997). [HeinOnline]

Some Problems with “Origins,” 16 SOUTHERN ILLINOIS UNIVERSITY LAW JOURNAL 233 (1992). [HeinOnline]

James Wilson’s “Assimilation of the Common Law Mind”, 84 NORTHWESTERN UNIVERSITY LAW REVIEW 186 (1989). [HeinOnline]

Metaphor and Imagination in James Wilson’s Theory of Federal Union, 13 LAW & SOCIAL INQUIRY 1 (1988). [HeinOnline]

Polite Foundation: Citizenship and Common Sense in James Wilson’s Republican Theory, 1984 SUPREME COURT REVIEW 359. [HeinOnline]

Book Chapters

Common Law, in THE BLOOMSBURY ENCYCLOPEDIA OF THE AMERICAN ENLIGHTENMENT (Mark G. Spencer, Ed.). New York: Bloomsbury Academic, 2014.

PFLAG, in THE SOCIAL HISTORY OF THE AMERICAN FAMILY: AN ENCYCLOPEDIA (Lawrence Ganong and Margaret Coleman, Eds.). Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage Publications, 2014.

Citizenship in BERKSHIRE ENCYCLOPEDIA OF WORLD HISTORY, 2nd ed. (William Hardy McNeill and Jerry H. Bentley, Eds.). Great Barrington, MA: Berkshire Publishing, 2010.

James Wilson, in THE YALE BIOGRAPHICAL DICTIONARY OF AMERICAN LAW (Roger K. Newman, Ed.). New Haven, CT: Yale University Press, 2009.

Law: Overview, in OXFORD ENCYCLOPEDIA OF THE MODERN WORLD (Peter N. Stearns, Ed.). New York: Oxford University Press, 2008.

Citizenship in BERKSHIRE ENCYCLOPEDIA OF WORLD HISTORY (William Hardy McNeill and Jerry H. Bentley, Eds.). Great Barrington, MA: Berkshire Publishing, 2005.

James Wilson in OXFORD DICTIONARY OF NATIONAL BIOGRAPHY: IN ASSOCIATION WITH THE BRITISH ACADEMY: FROM THE EARLIEST TIMES TO THE YEAR 2000 (H.C.G. Matthew and Brian Howard Harrison, Eds.). Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2004.

James Wilson, in THE ENCYCLOPEDIA OF THE ENLIGHTENMENT (Alan Charles Kors, Ed.). New York: Oxford University Press, 2003.

Citizenship, in THE OXFORD COMPANION TO AMERICAN LAW (Kermit Hall and David Scott Clark, Eds.). New York: Oxford University Press, 2002.

James Wilson, in A COMPANION TO AMERICAN THOUGHT (Richard W. Fox and James T. Kloppenberg, Eds.). Oxford: Blackwell Publishers, 1995.

Putting Rights Talk in its Place: The Summary View Revisited, in JEFFERSONIAN LEGACIES (Peter S. Onuf, Ed.). Charlottesville: University Press of Virginia, 1993.

James Wilson, in OXFORD COMPANION TO THE SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES (Kermit Hall, Ed.). New York: Oxford University Press, 1991.

James Wilson, in BLACKWELL ENCYCLOPEDIA OF THE AMERICAN REVOLUTION (Jack P. Greene and J.R. Pole, Eds.). Cambridge: Blackwell Reference, 1991.

Book Reviews

Review Essay. L’Esprit de Holmes, Novick, S.M., Honorable Justice: The Life of Oliver Wendell Holmes and Baker, L., The Justice from Beacon Hill: The Life and Times of Oliver Wendell Holmes, 67 INDIANA LAW JOURNAL 753 (1992). [HeinOnline]

Book Review. Ball, T. and Pocock, J.G.A. (Eds.), Conceptual Change and the Constitution, 7 CONSTITUTIONAL COMMENTARY 197 (1990). [HeinOnline]

Book Review. Pocock, J.G.A., The Ancient Constitution and Feudal Law: A Study of English Historical Thought in the Seventeenth Century--A Reissue with a Retrospect, 11 HISTORY OF EUROPEAN IDEAS 117 (1989).

Book Review. Cohler, A.M., Montesquieu’s Comparative Politics and the Spirit of American Constitutionalism, 9 JOURNAL OF THE EARLY REPUBLIC 249 (1989).

Book Review. Reid, J.P. Constitutional History of the American Revolution: The Authority of Rights, and Constitutional History of the American Revolution: The Authority to Tax, 45 WILLIAM & MARY QUARTERLY 775 (1988).

Review Essay. The Constitutionalism of the “Common-Law Mind”, Reid, J.P., Constitutional History of the American Revolution: Vol 1, The Authority of Rights and Greene, J.P., Peripheries and Center: Constitutional Development in the Extended Polities of the British Empire and the United States, 13 LAW AND SOCIAL INQUIRY 619 (1988). [HeinOnline]

Book Review. Aberdeen and the Enlightenment: Proceedings of a Conference Held at the University of Aberdeen, 2 EIGHTEENTH-CENTURY SCOTLAND 18 (1988).

Book Review. Pocock, J.G.A., Virtue, Commerce and History: Essays on Political Thought and History, Chiefly in the Eighteenth Century, 5 LAW AND HISTORY REVIEW 286 (1987). [HeinOnline]

Book Review. Macedo, S., The New Right v. the Constitution, and Jacobsohn, G.J., The Supreme Court and the Decline of Constitutional Aspiration, 4 CONSTITUTIONAL COMMENTARY 383 (1987). [HeinOnline]