Skip to main content

David P. Fidler

Faculty bibliography for Professor Fidler

Book Chapters

David P. Fidler

James Louis Calamaras Emeritus Professor of Law, 2019-present ; Professor of Law, 1995-2019


Desperately Clinging to Grotian and Kantian Sheep: Rousseau’s Attempted Escape from the State of War, in CLASSICAL THEORIES OF INTERNATIONAL RELATIONS (Ian Clark and Iver B. Neumann, Eds.). London: Palgrave Macmillan Press, 1996.

International Law and Infectious Disease, in ENCYCLOPEDIA OF MICROBIOLOGY, Vol 2, 2nd Ed. (Joshua Lederberg, Ed.). San Diego: Academic Press, 2000.

The Potential Role for Transnational Civil Society in Health Development in the Americas: Lessons from the NGO Revolution in International Law and Relations, in HEALTH & HUMAN DEVELOPMENT IN THE NEW GLOBAL ECONOMY: THE CONTRIBUTIONS AND PERSPECTIVES OF CIVIL SOCIETY IN THE AMERICAS (Alexandra Bambas, et al., Eds.). Washington, DC: Pan American Health Organization, 2000.

Sisyphus in the Microbial World: Antimicrobial Strategies and Humanity’s Health, in ANTI-MICROBIAL/ANTI-INFECTIVE MATERIALS: PRINCIPLES, APPLICATIONS AND DEVICES (Samuel P. Sawan and Gurusamy Manivannan, Eds.). Lancaster, PA: Technomic Publishing 2000.

War and Infectious Diseases: International Law and the Public Health Consequences of Armed Conflict, in THE ENVIRONMENTAL CONSEQUENCES OF WAR: LEGAL, ECONOMIC AND SCIENTIFIC PERSPECTIVES (Jay E. Austin and Carl E. Bruch, Eds.). Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 2000.

Public Health and International Law: The Impact of Infectious Diseases on the Formation of International Legal Regimes, 1800-2000, in PLAGUES AND POLITICS: INFECTIOUS DISEASE AND INTERNATIONAL POLICY (Andrew Price-Smith, Ed.). London: Macmillan, 2001.

Antimicrobial Resistance: A Challenge for Global Health Governance, in GLOBALISATION AND HEALTH: CASE STUDIES (Kelley Lee, Ed.). London: Palgrave Macmillan, 2002.

Legal Challenges for the Public Health Sector, in MANAGING TERRORISM’S CONSEQUENCES: LEGAL ISSUES (Barry Kellman, Ed.). Oklahoma City: Memorial Institute for the Prevention of Terrorism, 2002.

Palestinian Economic Development in the Era of Globalization (with Fadi G. Harb), in PALESTINE AND INTERNATIONAL LAW: ESSAYS ON POLITICS AND ECONOMICS (Sanford Silverburg, Ed.). New York: McFarland & Co. Publishing, 2002.

International Considerations (with Tony D. Perez and Martin S. Cetron), in LAW IN PUBLIC HEALTH PRACTICE (Richard A. Goodman, et al., Eds.). Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2003.

International Law, in GLOBAL PUBLIC GOODS FOR HEALTH: HEALTH ECONOMIC AND PUBLIC HEALTH PERSPECTIVES (R. Smith, et al., Eds.). Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2003.

Health, Globalization, and Governance: An Introduction to Public Health’s “New World Order,” in GLOBAL CHANGE AND HEALTH (Jeff Collin and Kelley Lee, Eds.). London: Open University Press, 2005.

International Law, Infectious Diseases, and Globalization, in THE IMPACT OF GLOBALIZATION ON INFECTIOUS DISEASE EMERGENCE AND CONTROL: EXPLORING THE CONSEQUENCES AND OPPORTUNITIES (S. Knobler, et al., Eds.). Washington, DC: The National Academies Press, 2006.

International Legal Considerations for the Quarantine Station Expansion, in QUARANTINE STATIONS AT PORTS OF ENTRY: PROTECTING THE PUBLIC’S HEALTH (L.B. Sivitz, et al., Eds.). Washington, DC: National Academies Press, 2006.

Making Commitments in Health Services Under the GATS: Legal Dimensions (with Nick Drager, et al.), in INTERNATIONAL TRADE IN HEALTH SERVICES AND THE GATS: CURRENT ISSUES AND DEBATES. Washington, DC: World Bank, 2006.

Achieving Coherence in Anarchy: Foreign Policy, Trade, and Health, in TRADE AND HEALTH: POLICY COHERENCE FOR HUMAN DEVELOPMENT (Chantal Blouin and Nick Drager, Eds.). Montreal: McGill University Press, 2007.

Biosecurity: Friend or Foe for Public Health Governance? in MEDICINE AT THE BORDER: DISEASE, GLOBALIZATION AND SECURITY, 1850 TO THE PRESENT (Alison Bashford, Ed.). Basingstoke: Palgrave Macmillan, 2007.

Incapacitating Chemical and Biochemical Weapons and Law Enforcement under the Chemical Weapons Convention, in INCAPACITATING BIOCHEMICAL WEAPONS: PROMISE OR PERIL? (Alan M. Pearson, et al., Eds.). Lanham: Lexington Books, 2007.

International Considerations (with Martin S. Cetron), in LAW IN PUBLIC HEALTH PRACTICE, 2nd ed. (Richard A. Goodman, et al., Eds.). Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2007.

A Pathology of Public Health Securitism: Approaching Pandemics as Security Threats, in GOVERNING GLOBAL HEALTH: CHALLENGE, RESPONSE, INNOVATION (Andrew F. Cooper, et al., Eds.). Aldershot: Ashgate Publishers, 2007.

Trade in Health Services and GATS (with Richard Smith, et al.), in A HANDBOOK OF INTERNATIONAL TRADE IN SERVICES (Aasitya Mattoo, et al., Eds.). Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2007.

World Health Organization, in INTERNATIONAL ENCYCLOPEDIA OF THE SOCIAL SCIENCES, 2nd ed. (William A. Darity, Ed.) Detroit: Macmillan Reference, 2007.

Sisyphus in the Microbial World Revisited: Global Governance, Antimicrobial Strategies, and Humanity’s Health, in DISINFECTION AND DECONTAMINATION: PRINCIPLES, APPLICATIONS, AND OTHER ISSUES (Gurusamy Manivannan, Ed.). Boca Raton: CRC Press, 2008.

World Health Organization, in INTERNATIONAL ENCYCLOPEDIA OF THE SOCIAL SCIENCES, VOL 9, 2nd ed. (William A. Darity, Ed.). Detroit: MacMillan Reference, 2008.

Indian Doctrine on Sub-Conventional Operations: Reflections from a U.S. Counterinsurgency Perspective, in INDIA AND COUNTERINSURGENCY: LESSONS LEARNED (with Sumit Ganguly, Eds.). New York: Routledge, 2009.

The Impact of International Trade and Investment Rules on the Ability of Governments to Implement Interventions to Address Obesity: A Case Study from the European Charter on Counteracting Obesity, in TRADE, FOOD, DIET AND HEALTH: PERSPECTIVES AND POLICY OPTIONS (C. Hawkes, C. Blouin, S. Henson, N. Drager, L. Dubé, Eds.). Oxford: Wiley Blackwell, 2010.

Asian Security, Chinese and Indian Power and Nuclear Non-Proliferation (with Sumit Ganguly), in IMAGINING ASIA IN 2030: TRENDS, SCENARIOS AND ALTERNATIVES (A. Lele and N. Goswami, Eds.). New Delhi: Academic Foundation, 2011.

Global Baseball: Latin America (with Arturo J. Marcano) in CAMBRIDGE COMPANION TO BASEBALL (L. Cassuto and S. Partridge, Eds.). Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 2011.

Asia and Global Health Governance: Power, Principles, and Practice, in ASIA'S ROLE IN GOVERNING GLOBAL HEALTH (Kelley Lee, Ed.). Abingdon: Routledge, 2012.

Counterinsurgency in India (with Sumit Ganguly), in THE ROUTLEDGE HANDBOOK OF INSURGENCY AND COUNTERINSURGENCY (Paul B. Rich and Isabelle Duyvesteyn, Eds.). London: Routledge, 2012.

Inter Arma Silent Leges Redux?: Law of Armed Conflict and Cyber-Conflict in CYBERSPACE AND NATIONAL SECURITY: THREATS, OPPORTUNITIES, AND POWER IN A VIRTUAL WORLD (Derek S. Reveron, Ed.). Washington, D.C.: Georgetown University Press, 2012.

Criminal Law and Global Health Governance  in CRIMINAL LAW, PHILOSOPHY AND PUBLIC HEALTH PRACTICE (A.M. Viens, et. al., Eds.). Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 2013.

Health Diplomacy, in OXFORD HANDBOOK OF MODERN DIPLOMACY (Andrew F. Cooper, et. al., Eds.). Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2013.

The Path to Less Lethal and Destructive War?: Technological and Doctrinal Developments and International Humanitarian Law after Iraq and Afghanistan, in INTERNATIONAL HUMANITARIAN LAW AND THE CHANGING TECHNOLOGY OF WAR (Dan Saxon, Ed.). Leiden: Marinus Nijhoff Publishers, 2013.

"Clean Up the Abuses": Building a Rule-of-Law Culture for Major League Baseball's Operations in Latin America (with Arturo Marcano), in SPORT AND THE LAW: HISTORICAL AND CULTURAL INTERSECTIONS (Samuel O. Regalado and Sarah Fields, Eds.). Little Rock: University of Arkansas Press, 2014.

Cyberattacks and International Human Rights Law in WEAPONS UNDER INTERNATIONAL HUMAN RIGHTS LAW (Stuart Casey-Maslen, Ed.). Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 2014.

Nuclear, Chemical and Biological Terrorism in International Law, in RESEARCH HANDBOOK ON INTERNATIONAL LAW AND TERRORISM (Ben Saul, Ed.). Cheltenham: Edward Elgar Publishing, 2014.

Police in Counterinsurgency: The Challenge of Comprehensive Reformation in POLICING INSURGENCIES: COPS AS COUNTERINSURGENTS (C. Christine Fair and Sumit Ganguly, Eds.). New Delhi: Oxford University Press, 2014.

Cyberspace and Human Rights, in RESEARCH HANDBOOK ON INTERNATIONAL LAW AND CYBERSPACE (N. Tsagourias and R. Buchan, Eds.). Cheltenham: Edward Elgar Publishing, 2015.

Implementing Trade Commitments with a Public Health Perspectivein TRADE AND HEALTH: TOWARDS BUILDING A NATIONAL STRATEGY (Richard Smith, et. al., Eds.). Geneva: World Health Organization, 2015.

U.S. Foreign Policy and the Snowden Leaks, in THE SNOWDEN READER (D. P. Fidler, Editor). Bloomington: Indiana University Press, 2015.

Health, in WHY GOVERN? RETHINKING DEMAND AND PROGRESS IN GLOBAL GOVERNANCE (Amitav Acharya, Ed.). New York: Cambridge University Press, 2016.

Global Health Diplomacy and the Ebola Outbreak, in GLOBAL MANAGEMENT OF INFECTIOUS DISEASE AFTER EBOLA (Sam F. Halabi, Lawrence O. Gostin and Jeffrey S. Crowley, Eds.). New York: Oxford University Press, 2017.

Venezuela: The Passion and Politics of Baseball (with Arturo J. Marcano), in BASEBALL BEYOND OUR BORDERS: AN INTERNATIONAL PASTIME (G. Gmelch and D.A. Nathan, Eds.). Lincoln: University of Nebraska Press, 2017.

Cyber Security, Global Commerce, and International Organizations, in OXFORD HANDBOOK OF CYBER SECURITY (Paul Cornish, Ed.). New York: Oxford University Press, Forthcoming 2019.