Skip to main content

Fred H. Cate

Faculty bibliography for Fred H. Cate

Book Chapter

Fred H. Cate

Vice President for Research, Indiana University; Distinguished Professor and C. Ben Dutton Professor of Law; Senior Fellow, Center for Applied Cybersecurity Research


Data Privacy and Security Law (with Rachel Dockery), in OXFORD HANDBOOK OF CYBER SECURITY (Paul Cornish, Ed.). New York: Oxford University Press, Forthcoming 2018.

Organizational Accountability, Government Use of Private-Sector Data, National Security, and Individual Privacy (with James X. Dempsey and Martin Abrams), in BULK COLLECTION: SYSTEMATIC GOVERNMENT ACCESS TO PRIVATE-SECTOR DATA (Fred H. Cate and James X. Dempsey, Eds.). New York: Oxford University Press, 2017.

Recommendations for Government and Industry (with James X. Dempsey), in BULK COLLECTION: SYSTEMATIC GOVERNMENT ACCESS TO PRIVATE-SECTOR DATA (Fred H. Cate and James X. Dempsey, Eds.). New York: Oxford University Press, 2017.

Systematic Government Access to Private-Sector Data in the United States II:The Supreme Court and Information Privacy (with Beth Cate), in BULK COLLECTION: SYSTEMATIC GOVERNMENT ACCESS TO PRIVATE-SECTOR DATA (Fred H. Cate and James X. Dempsey, Eds.). New York: Oxford University Press, 2017.

Big Data, Consent, and the Future of Data Protection in BIG DATA IS NOT A MONOLITH (M. Mattioli, C. R. Sugimoto and H R. Ekbia, Eds.). Cambridge, MA: MIT Press, 2016.

Alan Westin and Privacy and Freedom (Foreword) in Westin, Alan F., PRIVACY AND FREEDOM. New York: Ig Publishing, 1967, 2015 reprint.

China and Information Security Threats: Policy Responses in the United States, in CHINA AND CYBERSECURITY ESPIONAGE, STRATEGY, AND POLITICS IN THE DIGITAL DOMAIN (Jon R. Lindsay, et.al., Eds.). New York: Oxford University Press, 2015.

Edward Snowden and the NSA: Law, Policy, and Politics in THE SNOWDEN READER (David P. Fidler, Editor). Bloomington: Indiana University Press, 2015.

Privacy (with Brooke Barnett), in CONCISE ENCYCLOPEDIA OF COMMUNICATION (Wolfgang Donsbach, Ed.). New York: Wiley-Blackwell, 2015.

Government Data Mining (with Newton N. Minow) in McGRAW-HILL HOMELAND SECURITY HANDBOOK: STRATEGIC GUIDANCE FOR A COORDINATED APPROACH TO EFFECTIVE SECURITY AND EMERGENCY MANAGEMENT, 2nd Ed. (David G. Kamien, Ed.). New York: McGraw-Hill, 2012.

Privacy (with Brooke Barnett), in INTERNATIONAL ENCYCLOPEDIA OF COMMUNICATION (Wolfgang Donsbach, Ed.). Malden, MA: Blackwell, 2008.

Surreptitious Code and the Law, in CRIMEWARE: UNDERSTANDING NEW ATTACKS AND DEFENSES (Markus Jakobsson & Zulfikar Ramzan, Eds.). Reading, MA: Addison-Wesley, 2008.

Liability for Phishing, in PHISHING AND COUNTERMEASURES (Markus Jakobsson & Steven Myers, Eds.) Hoboken, NJ: Wiley, 2007.

The Failure of Fair Information Practice Principles, [SSRN] in CONSUMER PROTECTION IN THE 'INFORMATION ECONOMY' (Jane K. Winn, Ed.) Surry, UK: Ashgate, 2006.

Legal Standards for Data Mining, in EMERGENT INFORMATION TECHNOLOGIES AND ENABLING POLICIES FOR COUNTER-TERRORISM (Robert L. Popp and John Yen, Eds.). Hoboken, NJ: Wiley, 2006.

Method in Our Madness: Legal Methodology in Communications Law Research, in COMMUNICATION AND LAW: MULTIDISCIPLINARY APPROACHES TO RESEARCH (Amy Reynolds and Brooke Barnett, Eds.). Mahwah, NJ: Lawrence Erlbaum Associates, 2006.

Accuracy in Credit Reporting (with Michael E. Staten), in BUILDING ASSETS, BUILDING CREDIT: CREATING WEALTH IN LOW-INCOME COMMUNITIES (Nicolas P. Restinas and Eric S. Belsky, Eds.). Washington, DC: Brookings Institution, 2005.

Data Mining and Privacy (with Newton N. Minow), [SSRN] in MCGRAW-HILL HANDBOOK OF HOMELAND SECURITY: THE DEFINITIVE GUIDE FOR LAW ENFORCEMENT. EMT, AND ALL OTHER SECURITY PROFESSIONALS (David Kamien, Ed.). New York: McGraw-Hill, 2005.

Privacy Protection and the Quest for Information Control, in WHO RULES THE NET?: INTERNET GOVERNANCE AND JURISDICTION (Adam Thierer and Clyde Wayne Crews, Jr., Eds.). Washington, DC: Cato Institute, 2003.

Privacy Regulation and What Is At Risk, in CORPORATE GOVERNANCE: IMPLICATIONS FOR FINANCIAL SERVICES FIRMS: THE 39TH ANNUAL CONFERENCE ON BANK STRUCTURE AND COMPETITION. Chicago: Federal Reserve Bank of Chicago, 2003.

Privacy, Consumer Credit, and the Regulation of Personal Information, in THE IMPACT OF PUBLIC POLICY ON CONSUMER CREDIT (Thomas A. Durkin and Michael E. Staten, Eds.). Boston: Kluwer, 2002.

Public Policy and the Privacy Avalanche, in THE FUTURE OF FINANCIAL PRIVACY: PRIVATE CHOICES VERSUS POLITICAL RULES. Washington, DC: Competitive Enterprise Institute, 2000.

The Value of Information-Sharing, in FINANCIAL SERVICES MODERNIZATION: THE IMPACT OF THE GRAMM-LEACH-BLILEY ACT (Vance G. Gudmundsen, Ed.). Malvern, PA: CPCU Society, 2000.

Introduction in LEGAL RESEARCH TODAY: TRADITIONAL SOURCES, NEW TECHNOLOGIES (C. K. Pauwels, L. K. Fariss and K. Buckley, Eds.). Bloomington, IN: Phi Delta Kappa, 1999.

Communications, Policymaking, and Humanitarian Crises, in FROM MASSACRES TO GENOCIDE: THE MEDIA, PUBLIC POLICY, AND HUMANITARIAN CRISES (Robert I. Rotberg and Thomas George Weiss, Eds.). Washington, DC: Brookings Institution, 1996.

The Legal Regulation of Transplantation, in TRANSPLANTATION NURSING: ACUTE AND LONG-TERM MANAGEMENT (M. T. Nolan and S. M. Augustine, Eds.). Norwalk, CT: Appleton & Lange, 1995.

The Patient Self-Determination Act: Implementing the Education Requirements,in COMMUNICATIONS AND THE PATIENT SELF-DETERMINATION ACT: STRATEGIES FOR MEETING THE EDUCATIONAL MANDATE. Washington, D.C.: The Annenberg Washington Project (1993).

The Continuing Battle Over the EC Broadcasting Directive, in COMMUNICATIONS COMMITTEE, SECTION OF INTERNATIONAL LAW AND PRACTICE, AMERICAN BAR ASSOCIATION. Washington, DC: American Bar Association 1991.

Death and Organ Transplantation (with Alexander M. Capron), in TREATISE ON HEALTH CARE LAW (Michael G. Macdonald, Ed.). New York: Matthew Bender, 1991.

The First Amendment and Compulsory Access to Cable Television, in CABLE TELEVISION LEASED ACCESS. Washington, DC: Annenberg Washington Program in Communications Policy Studies, 1991.

The European Community Broadcast Directive: The Need for a Fresh Look at Its Impact on the Fundamental Rights of Broadcasters and the Public (with Robert R. Bruce and Joel R. Reidenberg) in ANNENBERG WASHINGTON PROGRAM WORKING PAPERS OF THE TRANSATLANTIC DIALOGUE ON EUROPEAN BROADCASTING. Paris: 1989.

Laws and Regulations Relating to the Procurement and Use of Human Organs and Tissues in MATCHING NEEDS, SAVING LIVES: BUILDING A COMPREHENSIVE NETWORK FOR TRANSPLANTATION AND BIOMEDICAL RESEARCH (Joel L. Swerdlow, Ed.). Washington, DC: Annenberg Washington Program in Communications Studies, 1989.

Back to Basics: Current Disclosure Issues and Changing Concepts of Materiality After Basic v. Levinson (with Ralph C. Ferrara, et.al.) in 20TH ANNUAL INSTITUTE ON SECURITIES REGULATION. New York: Practising Law Institute, 1988.