Research Guides: Compiling State Legislative Histories (with information on Indiana Legislative Documents): Online

Online

The Internet allows state legislative bodies to expand the accessibility of state materials and to offer bill tracking and bill digest features.

State Legislative History Research Guides
An index of of state legislatures and legislative history research guides for each state, available on the Web (Law Library, Maurer Law)
State Legislatures, State Laws, and State Regulations: Website Links and Telephone Numbers
Provides links to state legislatures, state laws and state regulations along with telephone contacts for legislative materials. Created by the Law Librarians’ Society of Washington, D.C.
State Legislative Websites Directory (National Conference of State Legislatures)
The NCSL serves as a resource for those who draft legislation on the state level providing a searchable database that accesses publications and court decisions on a variety of legislative issues.
Select state(s), then under "One Content Area" choose "Bills" or "Legislators"
Cornell LII: Law by source: State
Select jurisdiction, then click links under "Constitution and Legislation"
The Council of State Governments
Identifies issues common among state governments providing a directory of state government officials from all 50 states and territories, and lists research publications produced by CSG staff
State Government Information
Library of Congress website with links to all official state Internet sites
State Legislatures (State and Local Government on the Net)
Choose from multiple legislative sites by state

Lexis.com: Legislative Bill History Files

Browse > Legal > Legislation & Politics - U.S. & U.K. > U.S. States > Legislative Bill History

Legislative history documents include: Bill Analyses, Governor's Messages, Committee Reports, Fiscal Messages, Summary Amendments, and other types

Lexis Advance

To find state legislative history documents, go to "Browse Sources" and enter "legislative bill history" in the "Search for a source" box. Choose the source from the results list. E.g., Mississippi Legislative Bill History

Or, go to "Browse Sources" and choose "By Category" (Statutes & Legislation), Filter by Category (Legislative Histories), then filter by Jurisdiction.

Or, enter search term in main search box. Post-filter by content type (Statutes and Legislation), Category (Legislative Histories) and Source.

From a code section (Lexis.Com and Lexis Advance)

From the link to a Public Law citation in the “History” of an annotated code section

Use any of the Stat citations or the P.L. citations to access the Bill Tracking Report from the right hand side (after clicking on the Stat./P.L.) citation.

WestlawNext

A state can have up to five different types of legislative documents available, including:

The following databases are also available for states:

To access a state's Legislative History Database

Coverage varies by state and may include documents related to laws passed by the state legislature including bill histories, House and Senate journals and roll call votes, and governors' messages.

You can search a state's Legislative History database and apply filters and search within results

WestlawNext (three methods of researching legislative history from a code section)

While viewing an annotated code section, from the History tab, choose "Legislative History Materials" to access legislative history materials relevant to a statute section, such as committee reports, floor testimony, and executive messages

HeinOnline > Spinelli's Law Librarian's Reference Shelf > AALL GD-SIS State Bibliographies

Contains bibliographies of state’s legal publications and official state documents