Access Professor Brown's author profiles on the following services:
Books
BECAUSE OF OUR SUCCESS: THE CHANGING RACIAL AND ETHNIC ANCESTRY OF BLACKS ON AFFIRMATIVE ACTION. Durham, NC: Carolina Academic Press, 2014.
RACE, LAW AND EDUCATION IN A POST-DESEGREGATION AMERICA. Durham: Carolina Academic Press, 2005.
Articles
Bostock v. Clayton County Game Changer: US Federal Employment Law Now Covers Caste Discrimination Based on Untouchability (with Kenneth Dau-Schmidt, Annapurna Waughray, Lalit Khandare), NEW YORK UNIVERSITY REVIEW OF LAW AND SOCIAL CHANGE (forthcoming 2022). [SSRN]
Racial and Ethnic Ancestry of the Nation's Black Law Students: An Analysis of Data from the LSSE Survey (with Ken Dau-Schmidt), 22 BERKELEY JOURNAL OF AFRICAN-AMERICAN LAW AND POLICY 1 (2022). [HeinOnline] [SSRN]
Brown at 65: How Does the Changing Racial and Ethnic Ancestry of Blacks Impact the Interpretation of School Desegregation, 11 ALABAMA CIVIL RIGHTS & CIVIL LIBERTIES REVIEW 1 (2019). [HeinOnline]
Out of Bounds: A Critical Race Theory Perspective on "Pay for Play", (with Antonio Williams), 29 JOURNAL OF LEGAL ASPECTS OF SPORT 30 (2019). [HeinOnline]
Evolution of the Racial Identity of Children of Loving: Has Our Thinking about Race and Racial Issues Become Obsolete?, 86 FORDHAM LAW REVIEW 2773 (2018). [HeinOnline]
Benefiting From Breaking the Color Barrier: Tribute to Professor Richardson for Being the Pioneer at Indiana University Maurer School of Law, 31 TEMPLE INTERNATIONAL AND COMPARATIVE LAW JOURNAL 371 (2017). [HeinOnline]
End of the Racial Age: Reflections on the Changing Racial and Ethnic Ancestry of Blacks on Affirmative Action, 22 TEXAS JOURNAL ON CIVIL LIBERTIES & CIVIL RIGHTS 139 (2017). [HeinOnline]
The Enduring Integration School Desegregation Helped to Produce, 67 CASE WESTERN RESERVE LAW REVIEW 1055 (2017). [HeinOnline]
LSAC Data Reveals That Black/White Multiracials Outscore All Blacks on LSAT by Wide Margins, 39 NEW YORK UNIVERSITY REVIEW OF LAW & SOCIAL CHANGE 381 (2015). [HeinOnline]
A Tribute to Chief Justice Randall Shepard 48 VALPARAISO LAW REVIEW 585 (2014). [HeinOnline]
The Changing Nature of the Dominant Justifications that Legitimated the Oppression of African-Americans in the United States 1 JINDAL JOURNAL OF PUBLIC POLICY 4 (2013).
This is a Time for Hope and Change, 87 INDIANA LAW JOURNAL 431 (2012). [HeinOnline]
Redefining the Black Face of Affirmative Action: The Impact on Ascendant Black Women 2012 IILP REVIEW 148 (2012).
Should Black Immigrants be Favored Over Black Hispanics and Black Multiracials in the Admissions Processes of Selective Higher Education Programs?, 54 HOWARD LAW JOURNAL 255 (2011). [HeinOnline]
The Social Reconstruction of Race & Ethnicity of the Nation’s Law Students: A Request to the ABA, AALS and LSAC For Changes In New Reporting Requirement (with Tom I. Romero, II), 2011 MICHIGAN STATE LAW REVIEW 1133 (2011). [SSRN] [HeinOnline]
African American Disproportionality in School Discipline: The Divide Between Best Evidence and Legal Remedy(with Russell J. Skiba & Suzanne E. Eckes), 54 NEW YORK LAW SCHOOL LAW REVIEW 1071 (2009-2010). [HeinOnline]
It's More than Checking a Box (with J. Stahlman), 25 WINDS OF CHANGE 19 (2010).
Perspective and Point of View on Affirmative Action, 85 INDIANA LAW JOURNAL 1303 (2010). [HeinOnline]
Can Public International Boarding Schools in Ghana be the Next Educational Reform Movement for Urban Minority Public School Students?, 19 TEMPLE POLITICAL & CIVIL RIGHTS LAW REVIEW 91 (2009). [SSRN] [HeinOnline]
Change in Racial and Ethnic Classification is Here: Proposal to Address Race and Ethnic Ancestry of Blacks for Affirmative Action Admission Purposes, 31 HAMLINE JOURNAL OF PUBLIC LAW & POLICY 143 (2009). [HeinOnline]
Foreward: President Barack Obama Law & Policy Symposium 35 THURGOOD MARSHALL LAW REVIEW 1 (2009). [HeinOnline]
Now is the Appropriate Time For Selective Higher Education Programs to Collect Racial and Ethnic Data on Its Black Applicants and Students, 34 THURGOOD MARSHALL LAW REVIEW 287 (2009). [SSRN] [HeinOnline]
Demise of the Talented Tenth: Affirmative Action and the Increasing Underrepresentation of Ascendant Blacks at Selective Higher Educational Institutions (with Jeannine Bell), 69 OHIO STATE LAW JOURNAL 1229 (2008). [SSRN] [HeinOnline]
Introduction to Symposium: Race Across Boundaries, 24 HARVARD BLACKLETTER LAW JOURNAL 1 (2008). [HeinOnline]
Lessons Learned from Comparing the Application of Constitutional Law and Federal Anti-Discrimination Law to African-Americans in the U.S. and Dalits in India in the Context of Higher Education(with Vinay Sitapati) , 24 HARVARD BLACKLETTER LAW JOURNAL 3 (2008). [HeinOnline]
Reflections on Justice Kennedy’s Opinion in Parents Involved: Why Fifty Years of Experience Shows Kennedy Was Right, 59 SOUTH CAROLINA LAW REVIEW 735 (2008). [HeinOnline]
The Supreme Court’s Role in the Growing School Choice Movement, 67 OHIO STATE LAW JOURNAL 37 (2006). [HeinOnline]
After Grutter v. Bollinger: Revisiting the Desegregation Era from the Perspective of the Post-Desegregation Era, 21 CONSTITUTIONAL COMMENTARY 41 (2004). [HeinOnline]
Brown v. Board of Education: Reexamination of the Desegregation of the Public Education from the Perspective of the Post-Desegregation Era, 35 UNIVERSITY of TOLEDO LAW REVIEW 773 (2004). [HeinOnline]
The Hypothetical Opinion in Grutter v. Bollinger from the Perspective of the Road Not Taken in Brown v. Board of Education, 36 LOYOLA UNIVERSITY CHICAGO LAW JOURNAL 83 (2004). [HeinOnline]
The Racial Gap in Ability: From the Fifteenth Century to Grutter and Gratz, 78 TULANE LAW REVIEW 2061 (2004). [HeinOnline]
The Road Not Taken in Brown: Recognizing the Dual Harm of Segregation, 90 VIRGINIA LAW REVIEW 1579 (2004). [HeinOnline]
African-Americans Within the Context of International Oppression, 17 TEMPLE INTERNATIONAL AND COMPARATIVE LAW JOURNAL 1 (2003). [HeinOnline]
Reexamination of the Benefit of Publicly Funded Private Education for African-American Students in a Post-Desegregation Era, 36 INDIANA LAW REVIEW 477 (2003). [HeinOnline]
The Constitutionality of Racial Classifications in Public School Admissions, 29 HOFSTRA LAW REVIEW 1 (2000). [HeinOnline]
Equal Protection Challenges to the Use of Racial Classifications to Promote Integrated Public Elementary and Secondary Student Enrollments, 34 AKRON LAW REVIEW 37 (2000). [ HeinOnline]
Globalization and Cultural Conflict: The South African Example, 7 INDIANA JOURNAL OF GLOBAL STUDIES 225 (1999). [HeinOnline]
The Implications of the Equal Protection Clause for the Mandatory Integration of Public School Students, 29 CONNECTICUT LAW REVIEW 999 (1997). [HeinOnline]
Hopwood v. State of Texas: Was this the African-American Nightmare or the African-American Dream, 2 TEXAS FORUM ON CIVIL LIBERTIES AND CIVIL RIGHTS 97 (1996).
Revisiting the Supreme Court’s Opinion in Brown v Board of Education from a Multiculturalist Perspective, 96 TEACHERS COLLEGE RECORD 644 (1995).
Separate and Equal, 81 AMERICAN BAR ASSOCIATION JOURNAL 108 (March 1995).
The Dilemma of Legal Discourse For Public Educational Responses to the “Crisis” Facing African-American Males, 23 CAPITAL UNIVERSITY LAW REVIEW 63 (1994). [ HeinOnline]
Do African-Americans Need Immersion Schools?: The Paradoxes Created by the Conceptualization by Law of Race and Public Education, 78 IOWA LAW REVIEW 813 (1993). Reprinted with revisions in CRITICAL RACE THEORY: THE CUTTING EDGE (Richard Delgado, ed.). Philadelphia: Temple University Press, 1995. Also reprinted in RACE, CIVIL RIGHTS, AND AMERICAN LAW: A MULTIRACIAL APPROACH (Timothy Davis, Kevin R. Johnson, & George A. Martinez, Eds.). Durham, NC: Carolina Academic Press, 2001.
After the Desegregation Era: The Legal Dilemma Posed by Race and Education, 37 ST. LOUIS UNIVERSITY LAW JOURNAL 897 (1993). [HeinOnline]
The Legal Rhetorical Structure For the Conversion of Desegregation Lawsuits to Quality Education Lawsuits, 42 EMORY LAW JOURNAL 791 (1993). [HeinOnline]
Recent Developments in the Termination of School Desegregation Decrees, 26 INDIANA LAW REVIEW 867 (1993). [HeinOnline]
A Reply to Cummings: Are the Racial Realists Forced to Embrace the Legal Rationales of the Liberal and Integrationist Structures?, 20 HASTINGS CONSTITUTIONAL LAW QUARTERLY 783 (1993). [HeinOnline]
Has the Supreme Court Allowed the Cure for De Jure Segregation to Replicate the Disease?, 78 CORNELL LAW REVIEW 1 (1992). [HeinOnline]
The Social Construction of a Rape Victim: Stories About the Story of the Rape of Desiree Washington by Mike Tyson, 1992 UNIVERSITY OF ILLINOIS LAW REVIEW 997 (1992). [HeinOnline]
Remedies for De Jure Segregation: Will the Supreme Court Allow the Remedy to Replicate the Disease?, in PROCEEDINGS OF THE PRE-SYMPOSIUM RESEARCH WORKSHOP HELD AT THE NATIONAL SYMPOSIUM ON RACE RELATIONS, EQUITY EDUCATION, AND CIVIL RIGHTS: DESEGREGATING THE AMERICAN MIND (Emmet L. Wright, Ed.). Topeka, KS: Brown Foundation for Educational Equity, Excellence and Research, 1990.
Termination of Public School Desegregation: Determination of Unitary Status Based on the Elimination of Invidious Value Inculcation, 58 GEORGE WASHINGTON LAW REVIEW 1105 (1990). [HeinOnline]
Book Chapters
Foreword and Afterword in GANDHI-AMBEDKAR (Narendra Jadhav), forthcoming 2023.
From the 1930s to the 2020s: What Ice Cube's Song "Endangered Species" Meant for Four Generations of Black Males, (Robert Pervine, Charles Westerhaus, and Kynton Gray) in FIGHT THE POWER: LAW AND POLICY THROUGH HIP-HOP SONGS (Gregory S. Parks and Frank Rudy Cooper, eds.), 2022.
The History and Conceptual Elements of Critical Race Theory (with Darrell Jackson) in THE HANDBOOK OF CRITICAL RACE THEORY IN EDUCATION, 2nd ed. (Marvin Lynn and Adrienne Dixson, eds.), 2022.
Common Struggles? Why There Has Not Been More Cooperation between African-Americans and Dalits (with Lalit Khandare) in B.R. AMBEDKAR: THE QUEST FOR JUSTICE (Aakash Singh Rathore, ed.). Oxford University Press, 2020.
African-American Perspective on Common Struggles: The Benefits for African-Americans Comparing Their Struggle to the Dalit Liberation Efforts, in THE RADICAL IN AMBEDKAR: CRITICAL REFLECTIONS (Suraj Yengde and Anand Teltumbde, eds.). India: Allen Lane, 2018.
African American Education during the Civil Rights Era, 1954 to 1975 in AFRICAN AMERICAN CULTURE: FROM DASHIKIS TO YORUBA (Gerald Early, Ed.). Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-Clio, 2018.
The Essence of African-American Culture is Resistance Against our Racial Oppression in CONTESTING MARGINALISATIONS: CONVERSATIONS ON AMBEDKARISM & SOCIAL JUSTICE (Vidya Bhushan Rawat, ed.). Navi Mumbai: Peoples Literature Publication, 2017.
Because of Our Success: The Race of Blacks Makes a Difference on LSAT Scores (with Renee Turner), in IILP REVIEW 2014: THE STATE OF DIVERSITY AND INCLUSION IN THE LEGAL PROFESSION. Chicago: Institute for Inclusion in the Legal Profession, 2014.
The History and Conceptual Elements of Critical Race Theory, in HANDBOOK OF CRITICAL RACE THEORY IN EDUCATION (Marvin Lynn and Adrienne Dixson, Eds.). New York: Routledge, 2013.
The Rise and Fall of the One-Drop Rule, in COLOR MATTERS: SKIN TONE BIAS AND THE MYTH OF A POSTRACIAL AMERICA (Kimberly Jade Norwood, Ed.). New York: Routledge, 2013.
Affirmative Action, in 1 ENCYCLOPEDIA OF AFRICAN AMERICAN POPULAR CULTURE, (Jessie Carney Smith, Ed.). Santa Barbara, CA: Greenwood, 2011.
Brown v. Board of Education, in 1 ENCYCLOPEDIA OF AFRICAN AMERICAN POPULAR CULTURE, (Jessie Carney Smith, Ed.). Santa Barbara, CA: Greenwood, 2011.
Plessy v. Ferguson, in 3 ENCYCLOPEDIA OF AFRICAN AMERICAN POPULAR CULTURE, (Jessie Carney Smith, Ed.). Santa Barbara, CA: Greenwood, 2011.
Affirmative Action, in THE OXFORD ENCYCLOPEDIA OF THE MODERN WORLD VOL. 1 (Peter N. Stearns, Ed.). New York: Oxford University Press, 2008.
Milliken v. Bradley, 418 U.S. 717 (1974), in ENCYCLOPEDIA OF THE SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES (David S. Tanenhaus et al., Eds.) Detroit: Macmillan Reference, 2008.
Milliken v Bradley (Milliken II) 433 U.S. 267 (1977), in ENCYCLOPEDIA OF THE SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES (David S. Tanenhaus et al., Eds.) Detroit: Macmillan Reference, 2008.
Diversity and the African-American Experience in America with Racial Subordination in the United States: Lessons for Dalits in India, in THE BANGALORE INITIATIVE (S. Japhet, et.al., Eds.). Bangalore: CSCCL, NLSIU and Devaraj Urs Research Institute, 2004.
Affirmative Action in the United States and the Reserve System in India, in RELIGION AND PERSONAL LAW IN SECULAR INDIA (edited by Gerald Larson). Bloomington: Indiana University Press, 2001.
Afrocentric Schools, in 1 ENCYCLOPEDIA OF THE AMERICAN CONSTITUTION 58 (L. Levy et al. eds., 2d edition). New York: Macmillan Reference USA, 2000.
Do African-American Males Need Race and Gender Segregated Education?: An Educator’s Perspective and a Legal Perspective, in THE NEW POLITICS OF RACE AND GENDER. Washington, D.C.: Falmer Press, 1993.
The Legal and Educational Construction of African-American Males in Academies, in THE NEW POLITICS OF RACE AND GENDER: THE 1992 YEARBOOK OF THE POLITICS OF EDUCATION ASSOCIATION (Catherine Marshall, Ed.). Washington, DC: Falmer Press, 1993.
Book Reviews
Book Review. Robert L. Carter, A Matter of Law: A Memoir of Struggle in the Cause of Equal Rights, 31 VERMONT LAW REVIEW 925 (2007). [HeinOnline]
Book Review. Tushnet, Mark, Making Civil Rights Law: Thurgood Marshall and the Supreme Court, 1936-1961, 48 JOURNAL OF LEGAL EDUCATION 456 (1998). [HeinOnline]
Book Review. Normative and Going Nowhere, Cookson, Peter W., School Choice: The Struggle for the Soul of American Education, 21 NEW YORK UNIVERSITY REVIEW OF LAW AND SOCIAL CHANGE 791 (1995). [HeinOnline]
Book Review. Shapin, Constitutional Literacy: A Core Curriculum for a Multicultural Nation, 81 JOURNAL OF AMERICAN HISTORY 1855 (1995).
Richard S. Melvin Professor of Law